Labour Crunch for PAP Team in Bishan-Toa Payoh: Hri Kumar Latest to Want Out!

Lawyer Hri Kumar is the latest in a string of MPs who will be leaving Bishan Toa-Payoh.

Mr Kumar follows former Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng and current Central CDC mayor and FAS chief Zainuddin Nordin, who will be leaving their MP posts in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

The trio’s departure would leave Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC with Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen and Senior Minister of State Josephine Teo, with 3 spots to fill.

The PAP team in Bishan-Toa Payoh is expected to face stiff competition from Chiam See Tong’s SPP, and the DPP, led by Benjamin Pwee.

Mr Kumar has been saddled in recent times with the Residents Committee Office dispute in Toa Pyoh, where the RC went ahead and build an office at a void deck in The Peak despite objections from residents.

The RC members were selected by Mr Kumar and not elected by residents of The Peak.

Mr Zainuddin has also been shown up by the Lions poor showing in the SEA Games, while Yoda Wong Kan Seng will be turning 69 this year.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. sam tan

    August 5, 2015 at 5:04 am

    New team or old team. Most residents wanted Mr Wong KS to go since last GE11 due to his inability to handle Mas Selamat case.
    TP/BISHAN GRC has since 2011 had their many complaints backlogged. Smelly dead fishes, rodents etc etc.
    Next, after the GE15, braze for it residents, be ready to be infested by caterpillars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top