EU Recommends Tighter Border Restrictions on Singapore Travellers


Singapore has been removed from the Council of the European Union’s list of countries for which travel curbs should be lifted.

This could see the 27 EU member nations reimposing border restrictions on travellers from Singapore.

The EU said that the factors for its decision cover the “epidemiological situation and overall response to Covid-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources.”

In the last 2 months, Singapore announced Vaccinated Travel Lanes with 10 countries in Europe.

These include Denmark, Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland and Britain.

All the countries, except Britain and Switzerland, are member states of the EU.

Germany raised its Covid-19 risk alert for Singapore and classified the Republic as a “high-risk area” last month.

Travellers from Singapore are required to complete an additional digital entry registration, and children who are not vaccinated will have to be quarantined for 5 days upon arrival there.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top