Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Changes to Electoral Constituencies Announced! New GRCs and SMCs Carved Out, 16.7 Percent of Voters Affected

Changes have been made to the boundaries of electoral constituencies.

16.7 percent of voters will find themselves in new constituencies.

This was published in a report by the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee.

In GE2011, 30 percent of voters were affected.

This time round, 2.46 million people will be eligible to vote.

This is up from the 2.35 million voters in GE2011.

The number of elected MPs will rise to 89, from the current 86.

There will be 13 SMCs and 16 GRC.

This is up from 12 SMCs and 15 GRC in GE2011.

Joo Chiat SMC has been absorbed into Marine Parade GRC, while Whampoa SMC will become part of Jalan Besar GRC.

Three new SMCs have been created:

(1) Bukit Batok SMC, carved out of jurong GRC,

(2) Fengshan SMC, carved out of East Coast GRC

(3) Macpherson SMC, carved out of Marine Parade GRC

Two New GRCs have been created: Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC and Jalan Besar GRC (which has been reconstituted).

There will be six 4-MP GRCs.

These include existing GRC, Choa Chu Kang GRC, East Coast GRC, Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, West Coast GRC and the 2 newly-created GRCs, Jalan Besar GRC and Marsiling GRC.

There will be eight 5-MP GRCs.

These include: Aljunied, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Jurong, Marine Parade, Nee Soon, Sembawang, Tampines and Tanjong Pagar GRCs.

The current two existing 6-MP GRCs will remain: Ang Mo Kio abd Pasir Ris-Punggol GRCs.

With the release of this report, the next steps before the General Election is the dissolving of parliament and the issuing of a writ of election.

This is the full list of electoral divisions:


1. Bukit Batok
2. Bukit Panjang
3. Fengshan
4. Hong Kah North
5. Hougang
6. MacPherson
7. Mountbatten
8. Pioneer
9. Potong Pasir
10. Punggol East
11. Radin Mas
12. Sengkang West
13. Yuhua

Four-member GRCs:

1. Chua Chu Kang
2. East Coast
3. Holland-Bukit Timah
4. Jalan Besar
5. Marsiling-Yew Tee
6. West Coast

Five-member GRCs:

1. Aljunied
2. Bishan-Toa Payoh
3. Jurong
4. Marine Parade
5. Nee Soon
6. Sembawang
7. Tampines
8. Tanjong Pagar

Six-member GRCs:

1. Ang Mo Kio
2. Pasir Ris-Punggol

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2023 Redwire Singapore